Thursday, August 6, 2009

Wings at the Speed of Sound (1976)

The initial release of "Wings At The Speed Of Sound" in April 1976 benefited greatly from a massive world tour undertaken by Paul McCartney and band. The "Wings Over The World" tour would include Paul's first U.S. concert appearances since The Beatles' 1966 concert dates. To say it was the hottest ticket in town would be an understatement. The North American leg of the tour, dubbed "Wings Over America," sold out within minutes in every city it played. The publicity generated from this tour was enough to keep "Wings At The Speed Of Sound" at #1 on the Billboard album charts for an astonishing seven weeks. It also spawned #1 and #3 singles in "Silly Love Songs" and "Let 'em In," respectively.

For "Wings At The Speed of Sound" McCartney followed the same pattern he had established with "Venus and Mars" and allowed other band members to sing their own songs. Wife Linda even gets in on the fun by singing "Cook Of The House," her first lead vocal. "Silly Love Songs," "Let 'em In," Time To Hide" and "Beware My Love" were all part of the tour set list. The other album highlight was "Warm and Beautiful."

This remaster includes several bonus tracks. A single issued under a fake name by Paul and band (billed as "The Country Hams"), the A-side of which was a song written by Paul's father, James. "Sally G" was the flip side of the "Junior's Farm" single in 1974. Paul's seventh post-Beatles album. The last of the DCC remastered gold CD reissues from Paul McCartney. Booklet scans. 320kbps.

1. Let 'Em In
2. The Note You Never Wrote
3. She's My Baby
4. Beware My Love
5. Wino Junko
6. Silly Love Songs
7. Cook of the House
8. Time to Hide
9. Must Do Something About It
10. San Ferry Anne
11. Warm and Beautiful
12. Country Hams-Walking in the Park with Eloise
13. Country Hams-Bridge on the River Suite
14. Sally G


1 comment:

  1. Thank you my friend, i was looking for it!


Subscribe via email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner